The Grand Prix

Jenny Berggren in Grand Prix
Wow!!!
Tomorrow I will be there and start to set up all things for the show on the 26:th.
I can’t wait.

’There’ is of course in Copenhagen, the capitol of Denmark.

I am so happy to be able to work in Denmark again.
I know the language since twenty years soon, because of all the times I have worked there.
I know the streets, the best shops, designers and so on. I know the sound of the clock from Rådhuspladsen.

When I was twenty-one and walked the streets of Copenhagen as a young pop star, I had a vision of that Copenhagen was the very best city in the world. I still do.
It has everything. I remembered I loved the story behind every corner of the city. I heard many and lost them into my inner memories, still creating a good spirit.

Then I got the chance to see for the very first time a country in miniature, since I was for the first time traveling a whole country in only a few weeks. It was just before Christmas in the 90’s and we left for a small tour.
I saw everything through the hungry eyes of a young person:
The windpowerstations, the audience, the smell of sugarcanes factories, the hills and wide stretched landscape, the ”GaJol” candy and the Citronvann sodas I grew to love, the drinking tap water, The prescription for a great evening according to the pair-dancing in inner Jylland, in all the mentality of a whole people humble before the arts, because they are covered with it in various ways.

I learned to love Copenhagen and Denmark. The Danes granted me an entrance into their school of pop stardom, and they gave me a wisdom I could live with. ”Be yourself. I am!”

I took my first step as an artist in this country, witch airport always saw a tired 20 year old girl returning home, transfer traveling to Gothenburg, my home city. I was the only one who had taken of my shoes. I relaxed because I felt like home, and then I didn’t need any shoes on my feet anymore. This barefoot behavior of mine has only happened in my own house and … in Copenhagen, Denmark:)

    • Julyasik
    • February 22nd, 2011

    Dear Jenny!
    You have a three talent: 1 – singing, 2 – charm and 3 – write!
    You wrote about Denmark and Copenhagen – very beautiful and interesting!
    And I want see this country again!)))))))
    And I belive in your win! I want wish You – success 26:th! Good Luck!
    Go Jenny Go!

    • Angela
    • February 22nd, 2011

    Hi Jenn! you made me want to visit Copenhagen right now 🙂
    Have a great time there my friend!

    • Louiza
    • February 22nd, 2011

    Jag önskar dig all lycka till! Go out there and win!

    Vi håller på dig, det vet du 🙂

  1. Good luck Jenny although you dont need luck just what you already have which is a wonderful talent and perfect way of giving it out to others. I have to agree that as a person who doesnt travel much to arrive in copenhagen I had that same feeling you described above and also the start of a musical world for me. Although I still need to work out the best shops! Wonderful place wonderful people and huge support musically so yes it feels like home too so next time I make take off my shoes too 😉 although maybe ill wait until ive left the airport for that one! love and best wishes xxx

  2. Hey J….I think you had your shoes off a couple of times at my house!! Oh no sorry, that was Jakob! much love, bro b

    • Farhod
    • February 22nd, 2011

    All the best and Good Luck on 26th!!! We support you and will always do. It’s your time!!! Greetings and votes, of course, from France ( and Uzbekistan ).
    Just do it!!! 🙂

    • Sharmistha
    • February 22nd, 2011

    That was heartfelt J! All the best!!

    • Eva domingo
    • February 23rd, 2011

    Congrats Jenn! I’ve been following your music since i was 11 and i loved it and now im so excited to see u again working hard in your solo career because im sure u r doing your best, now in Denmark is time to be yourself and have fun, i want to see u winning the grand prix and later Eurovision, im going to vote for Denmark (im Spanish)because your music makes me happy and reminds me old and great years, so the best of lucks for you.. U’ r a natural superstar love u

    • Carla Montenegro
    • February 23rd, 2011

    you’re a godess, you know???

    • Nicola
    • February 23rd, 2011

    Dear Jenny, I love the way you sing and write. I cannot take lyrics, melodies, moods of your album “My story”, out of my head. I think it’s a masterpiece.
    Ok, I just want to tell you this.
    Jenny n. 1!
    Greetings from Italy
    _Niko_

    • Jan-Åke
    • February 23rd, 2011

    Go Go Go! You will make a great performance!

    • Cristian Aranda
    • February 23rd, 2011

    Hi Jen!!! very good luck my lady!!!
    GO JENNY GO!!

    Kisses from Argentina!

  3. Copenhagen sounds like a wonderful place to visit. I am putting it on my list of places to see before I die. Thank you, Jenny!

  4. Go Jenny! my great grandfather (mother’s side) was from Denmark, some day I’ll travel up there to know such wonderful place
    Best wishes for all yours activities (there and everywhere) always!

    another pack of kisses from Argentina! 😉

    • Julieta
    • March 9th, 2011

    Carla Montenegro :you’re a godess, you know???

    You too Carla!! jaja 😛 Besos desde Argentina!! Espero que estés bien!! Si, Jenny es una diosa, hermosa mujer 🙂

    • JulieTorrentino
    • May 26th, 2014

    Jenny will always live in her sister’s shadow as she has always been the less talented of the two. Jenny should just go back to sucking her Z-Lister husband’s dick or better yet, guest star in an episode of South Park with the Battletoads guest starring as well and go fight and get her leathery ass kicked by the totally disgusting Robo-Manus mutant because Jenny would just stand there getting shot like an idiot whereas Malin knows how to crouch to avoid getting plastered!

    PS – Oh by the way, Jenny’s album was number 48 on the Swedish album charts. Can you say DUD?

    @brother bruce
    I bet you could beat the crap out of that Z-Lister husband of hers…then again you can’t even beat the Mega-Walker at the end of the FIRST level of Battletoads for the NES! So scratch that. Once a loser, always a loser.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

